Affiliate Faculty

ARC Affiliates are faculty with interdisciplinary, arts-related research interests who often participate in ARC-sponsored programs such as the ARC Fellows program and ARC symposia. These activities build community and connection among faculty, and what begin as informal conversations often grow into concrete, ARC-sponsored projects. 

ARC currently has over 75 affiliated faculty, drawn from across the campus, listed below by department:

African American Studies

Chiyuma Elliott

Associate Professor of African American Studies

Leigh Raiford

Associate Professor of African American Studies


Greg Castillo

Professor of Architecture

Raveevarn Choksombatchai

Professor of Architecture

Margaret Crawford

Director of Urban Design
Professor of Architecture

C. Greig Crysler

Arcus Chair of Gender, Sexuality & the Built Environment
Professor of Architecture

Walter Hood

Professor of Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning and Urban Design

Ronald Rael

Professor of Architecture
Eva Li Memorial Chair in Architecture

Andrew Shanken

Professor of Architecture

Art History

Julia Bryan-Wilson

Professor of Art History

Whitney Davis

Professor of Art History

Lauren Kroiz

Associate Professor of History of Art

Anneka Lenssen

Associate Professor of Global Modern Art

Art Practice

Al-An deSouza

Department Chair
Professor of Photography

Asma Kazmi

Assistant Professor of Art Practice

Greg Niemeyer

Professor of Media Innovation

Brody Reiman

Associate Professor of Sculpture

Stephanie Syjuco

Associate Professor of Sculpture

Anne Walsh

Professor of Time-based Art

City & Regional Planning

Teresa Caldeira

Professor of City & Regional Planning

Karen Chapple

Chair and Professor of City & Regional Planning
Carmel P. Friesen Chair

Comparative Literature

Timothy Hampton

Director of the Doreen B. Townsend Center for the Humanities on the Berkeley Campus

Michael Lucey

Professor, Comparative Literature and French

Beth Piatote

Associate Professor, Comparative Literature
*Director, Arts Research Center

Miryam Sas

Professor of Film Studies and Comparative Literature

Sophie Volpp

Professor of Comparative Literature and East Asian Languages & Cultures

Computer Science

Ken Goldberg

Professor of Engineering and Computer Science

Eric Paulos

Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences and Berkeley Center for New Media
Co-Director, CITRIS Invention Lab

East Asian Languages & Culture

Dan O’Neill

Japanese Program Associate Professor


Charles Altieri (Founding Member)

Professor of English
Rachael Anderson Stageberg Endowed Chair

Nadia Ellis

Associate Professor of English

Sara Guyer

Dean, Arts & Humanities
Professor of English
President, International Consortium of Humanities Centers & Institutes

Poulomi Saha

Associate Professor of English

Stephen M. Best

Professor; affiliated faculty member in the Department of Film and Media; member of the Critical Theory designated emphasis

Georgina Kleege

Professor of English

Scott Saul

Professor of English

Ethnic Studies

Shari Huhndorf

Class of 1938 Professor of Native American Studies

Juana María Rodríguez

Professor & Chair, Comparative Ethnic Studies

Salar Mameni

Assistant Professor, Comparative Ethnic Studies

Laura Pérez

Professor Chicana/o and Latina/o & Chair, Latinx Research Center

Film and Media

Weihong Bao

Associate Professor, Department of Film and Media & East Asian Languages and Cultures

Rizvana Bradley 

Assistant Professor of Film & Media Studies

Jeffrey Skoller

Associate Professor of Film & Media Studies


Déborah Blocker

Professor of French

Gender & Women’s Studies

Mel Y. Chen

Associate Professor of Gender & Women’s Studies
Director, Center for the Study of Sexual Culture

Courtney D. Morris

Assistant Professor of Gender & Women’s Studies

Eric A. Stanley

Associate Professor and Vice Chair for Pedagogy, Department of Gender and Women’s Studies


Karen Feldman

Professor of German
Department Chair


Brandi Thompson Summers

Assistant Professor of Geography, Global Metropolitan Studies


Ken Light

Reva & David Logan Professor of Photojournalism


Edmund Campion

Professor of Music Composition
Director, Center for New Music and Audio Technologies

Myra Melford

Professor of Music

Mary Ann Smart

Professor of Music

Ken Ueno

Professor of Music

T. Carlis Roberts

Associate Professor of Music

Near Eastern Studies

Ahmad Diab

Assistant Professor of Arabic Literature

Chana Kronfeld

Professor of Modern Hebrew, Yiddish and Comparative Literature


Alva Noë

Professor of Philosophy

Public Health

Seth Holmes

Associate Professor of Health and Social Behavior


Trinh T. Minh-Ha

Professor of Gender and Women’s Studies and Rhetoric

Fumi Okiji

Assistant Professor of Rhetoric

Winnie Wong

Associate Professor of Rhetoric

School of Law

Sonia Katyal

Co-Director, Berkeley Center for Law & Technology
Distinguished Haas Chair

Carla Shapreau

Lecturer, School of Law (art and cultural property/heritage law)
Curator, Ansley K. Salz Collection, Department of Music
Senior Fellow, Institute of European Studies

Spanish and Portuguese

Natalia Brizuela

Professor of Spanish and Portuguese

Anthony Cascardi (Founding Member)

Professor of Comparative Literature, Spanish & Portuguese, and Rhetoric

Alex Saum-Pascual

Associate Professor of Spanish and New Media

Candace Slater

Professor of Spanish and Portuguese

Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies

Brandi Catanese

Associate Professor of Theater, Dance & Performance Studies

Abigail de Kosnik

Associate Professor of Theater, Dance & Performance Studies
Director, Berkeley Center for New Media

Peter Glazer

Associate Professor of Directing, Performance Studies

Joe Goode

Professor, Department Chair of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies

Shannon Jackson (Founding Member)

Cyrus and Michelle Hadidi Professor of Rhetoric and of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies

SanSan Kwan

Associate Professor, Dance and Performance Studies

Angela Marino

Associate Professor, Latin American and U.S. Theater and Performance

Lisa Wymore

Professor of Theater, Dance & Performance Studies
Faculty Advisor, Berkeley Arts + Design

Campus Arts Affiliates

Jeremy Geffen

Executive and Artistic Director, Cal Performances

Katy Tucker

Associate Director of Administration and Programming, Cal Performances

Julie Rodrigues Widholm

Director, UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive

Affiliate Emeriti

Janet Adelman, Brian Barsky, Shawn Brixey, Janet Broughton, TJ Clark (Founding Member), Harrison Fraker (Founding Member), Suzanne Guerlac, Mark Griffith, Lyn Hejinian, Tom Laqueur, Michael O’Hare, Kaja Silverman, Katherine Sherwood, Anne Wagner, Linda Williams, and Bill Worthen.